RSS

First Day of Classes for Fall (Full) Term

23 Feb

My first class was a full term online course (CPT 179). The semester schedule was August 17 – November 30, 2011. I was right out of library school (University of South Carolina – www.libsci.sc.edu) and ready to rule the world of library and information instruction (Class of May 2011). When I was in library school, I take a couple of computer/information courses (J707, J706, J740, to name a few courses). I was also on the Computer Applications Advisory Committee at the community college because I give computer support to students in the library.

 

I created video lectures using Panopto Lecture Capture (www.panopto.com). I also created weekly PowerPoint lectures.  Students submitted their projects in SAM 2010 (a training tool for Microsoft Office 2010). Students also submitted a weekly discussion post in Blackboard (www.blackboard.com). I was trained in Panopto, SAM, and Blackboard prior to accepting a teaching position. I am very comfortable with the tools.

Discussion Points:

My favorite SAM Project was _______________________________

My favorite discussion topic was ____________________________

My favorite chapter was ___________________________________

The views expressed in this posting belongs to N. Leverne McBeth and does not reflect the view of my employer.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in Teaching Tools

 

Leave a Reply

 
