RSS

Teaching Style – Real World/Flipped Classroom

03 Mar

Every time I leave a class session, I feel more confident about my teaching style. I want my students to realize that, what they are learning will be required in the real world. I don’t lecture much during the class session. I want to be able to watch how the students are learning and using the software applications. At the beginning of the class session, I do a brief introduction to the chapter and project. Then, I allow to student to use the rest of the class session to work on their project. If they have problems with a task, I will stop the whole class and demonstrate the task on the whiteboard. I believe that students learn from hands on experience in the classroom.

Example of my teaching style:

Flipped Classroom http://lor.sccsc.edu/lr/workshops/Archive/FlippedClassroom/video/FlippedClassroom.html

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2012 in Teaching Tools

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Teaching Style – Real World/Flipped Classroom

  1. uksuperiorpapers

    May 14, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    Interesting concept for a HS. Could it be used for middle schools

     
    • nlsm

      May 16, 2012 at 8:56 pm

      @uksuperiorpapers,
      It depends on the technology level of your students and the classroom. If you (the teacher) have access to a computer with a webcam, you can create online lectures or mini-tutorials and have the students review them at home. YouTube or Vyew https://infoinstructor.wordpress.com/2012/02/27/vyew
      could be a good space to store the lectures. I would also involve the parents. My son’s social studies teacher (6th grade) post study guides online on the school’s website (teacher’s page). I am trying to encourage him to post online lectures.

       

Leave a Reply

 
