RSS

What’s Your Electronic Device?

04 Jun

Do you remember this device? It changed my life in college. I could see my paper on a screen and save it on a floppy drive.

Now I own a laptop. It has changed the way I assist students in the library and in the classroom. I can pick up my laptop and walk to a student and do searches in seconds (library catalog or database).

When a student in a classroom needs assistance; I don’t have to disturb the other students.  I just pull out my laptop and sit next to the student and walk through the problem. Next semester, I will be using a tablet to assist students in the library. Instead of being glued to the reference/information desk, I can walk about with the tablet. 

Technology is changing the way librarians are assisting students. I wonder how students are using technology for educational purposes. What electronic device is changing their life? I run across this interesting infographic on how technology is changing college life http://visual.ly/how-tech-changing-college-life.

 

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
